Pop Ups: The revolution will not be permanent. Or, an Ode to Ice Cream.

10 09 2009

The Icreamists 2Permanent is so yesterday. The Pop up retail revolution is here and the coolest pop up shop has just sauntered into town, and this here post is an ode to the ice cream pop up.

I’m a bit of a trendsurfer. I like to wait out in the water until I see the perfect trend swell up, and when I know I can ride it, I paddle out and ride the trend in to the shore. We’re not talking fashion here, but trends in media, tourism and retail. Inevitably, a trend will come and go, and I will have blinked to miss it. So it wasn’t really worth watching.

Trendwatching can be hard to hang on to, and sometimes I feel like Lucy and Ethel at the chocolate factory just trying to keep up:

But the Pop Up Shop trend? It’s like I see the wave coming, but I paddle in to shore, put down my board, and head over to the cocktail cabana where I order my Sex on the Beach and while towelling a glass, the bartender stares out to sea, letting out an exasperated gasp at the size of the wave building behind me, himself considering whether or not to run for cover, and then literally screaming at me to turn around so I don’t miss it, and me, slowly turning around to face a Point Break style wave 10 feet tall in front of me.

Trendwatching first covered Pop Up Retail in 2004 – read here for an in-depth look.  I’ve known about the pop up shop since I started paying attention, too, but I have not said a word about the trend. Until now ladies and gentlemen.

You may ask: Why now, Jessica?

I may just answer: Because I found the BEST pop up shop in the world and I want to (ice)scream from the rooftops about it.

The_Icecreamists

The Icecreamists! The agents of cool, Liberating the World One Lick at a Time guerrilla pop up shop at Selfridges from now until September 1st.

The Icecreamists

The website is gorgeous and the marketing is mad on target.  I completely buy their whole campaign one ice cream scoop at a time.

Ice Cream menu includes:

Obamarama, Obamarama at the White House, Vanilla Ice Ice Baby, the Prince Harry Ice Cream Sandwich, cocktails with names things like the Sex Pistol and even Champagne Ice Lollies.

It’s a pop-influenced lollie-pop-having pop-up…and they are even open for breakfast.

Sometimes keeping up with trends can be like Lucy and Ethel in the Chocolate Factory – but at least you get to shovel in all the chocolate (or ice cream) while you try to stay ahead of the trend.

God save the cream.

Actions

Information

5 responses

10 09 2009
Football » Blog Archive » Widely Outside the High -Tech Park in Hefei « Ligament

[…] Pop Ups: The revolution will not be permanent. Or, an Ode to Ice … […]

6 10 2009
RobD

Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!! 🙂

7 10 2009
Internet Marketing – How Newbie Can Lay Foundations Of Success | Internet Marketing

[…] Pop Ups: The revolution will not be permanent. Or, an Ode to Ice … […]

9 10 2009
Bill Bartmann

There’s good info here. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog. Keep up the good work mate!

9 10 2009
Bill Bartmann

There is obviously a lot to know about this. There are some good points here.

Leave a Reply

